My life in song

It’s a hard thing for me to choose 3 songs that are significant to me in reflection of my life because I love so many songs, so many of them speak to me. But a with little meditation on the subject I narrowed it down to what means most to me in my life and songs that I would dedicate to each.

All my life, now especially, I’ve learnt to depend on God. I learnt to have faith that God will always provide my every need once I took it to him in prayer and believed. Most of all, that he will never leave me no matter what! And so, most importantly, he is first in my life and to reflect this part of my life in song I would have to say, His eye is on the sparrow. 

Why should I feel discouraged
Why should the shadows come
Why should my heart feel lonely
And long for heaven and home

When Jesus is my portion
A constant friend is he
His eye is on the sparrow
And I know he watches over me
His eye is on the sparrow
And I know he watches me

I sing because I’m happy
I sing because I’m free
His eye is on the sparrow
And I know he watches me

How could one not find comfort in those words? How could one not go from a heart of sorrow to one of comfort and joy from trusting in these words??

The other two songs are dedicated to the second most important things, or should I say people, in my life. My daughter and my fiancé.

To my daughter, even at her tender age, I have words of blessings for her. Wishes of the best in life. Messages to savor forever. A song that brings tears to my eyes every time I listen and sing along and the message could not be any clearer or more lovely! My darling I hope you dance.

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder,
You get your fill to eat but always keep that hunger,
May you never take one single breath for granted,
GOD forbid love ever leave you empty handed,
I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean,
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens,
Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance.

I hope you dance….I hope you dance.

What more can I say??? The song says it all!

And to my fiancé, the angel God placed into my life. The day he stepped in was the day my life changed and because of him I am a much better person. No one ever made me happier. I am who I am and where I am honey Because you loved me.

For all those times you stood by me
For all the truth that you made me see
For all the joy you brought to my life
For all the wrong that you made right
For every dream you made come true
For all the love I found in you
I’ll be forever thankful baby
You’re the one who held me up
Never let me fall
You’re the one who saw me through through it all

You were my strength when I was weak
You were my voice when I couldn’t speak
You were my eyes when I couldn’t see
You saw the best there was in me
Lifted me up when I couldn’t reach
You gave me faith ‘coz you believed
I’m everything I am
Because you loved me

Once again, I needless say more as the song’s lyrics captures everything so accurately.

Songs are beyond just a nice sound, but meaningful lyrics hold meaningful messages and infect the mind, body and soul! My entire life is full of song, for every moment and every chapter.

A life without song is a life without color!

What songs does your life sing?

2 thoughts on “My life in song

  1. Very nice choices. The first song came up in recent conversation of mine about a passed on grandfather that sang it. I chose Walk by Faith by Jeremy Camp as one of mine, and should have included I Surrender All as a favorite hymn, but didn’t think of it in time.
    Much Respect
    Ronovan
    Fellow 101 Participant

    Like

Leave a Reply

